The Governors are Trustees of The Portsmouth Grammar School Trust. The address of Trust is as follows: The Portsmouth Grammar School Trust, The Portsmouth Grammar School, High Street, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 2LN.

The Chairman of Governors, Mr Walter Cha, can be contacted via the Clerk to the Governing Body, Mr S Merriam. The contact details for the Chairman of Governors is as follows: The Governing Body, The Portsmouth Grammar School, High Street, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 2LN. The contact email for the Clerk to the Governors is and he can be contacted by telephone on 023 9236 4205.

Mr Walter Cha, BA 

Chair of Governors 

Walter Cha is a lawyer by background.  He chaired the school’s Finance and General Purposes Committee before becoming chair of the Governing Body in September 2017. 

Walter was the Managing Partner at Blake Morgan from 1999 to 2016. He retired from Blake Morgan in 2017 and now undertakes a number of non-executive roles at businesses in the development and construction sector to professional service firms. 

Mrs Margaret Scott, BSc

Vice-Chair of the Governing Body 

Chair of the Education Committee and member of the Finance & General Purposes Committee.  

Margaret is a lay member of the NHS South East Hampshire Clinical Commissioning Group and is a member of the Bohunt Education Trust. 


Mrs Susie Baker, MA
Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee. 

Susie is Director of the Waynflete Office at Magdalen College School, Oxford, where she is responsible for fundraising, alumni relations and a range of stakeholder activities. Prior to joining the school, Susie worked in higher education in communications and marketing roles, most recently as Director of Communications at Oxford Brookes University, and before that at Cambridge University. 


Mrs Kathy Bishop, BA (Hons) ACA
Chair of the Remuneration Committee and member of both the Finance & General Purposes Committee and Audit & Risk Committee.  

Kathy is currently Head of Tax Operations at Maersk, the Danish Container Shipping group and was previously a Tax Vice-President and Co-Chair of the IBM UK Pension Trust.


Mr Tom Burden, MA
Deputy Safeguarding Governor.  

Tom is a former Headmaster of two schools: The Pilgrims’ School in Winchester and Hereward House, a north London day school. He is currently studying and training in Oxford for ordination into the Church of England. 



Mr Mike Coffin, BA (Econ) FCA 
Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Finance and General Purposes and Nominations Committees.  

Mike is a Chartered Accountant. 



Mrs Vivienne Durham
Member of the Education Committee. 

Vivienne was Headmistress of Francis Holland School in London from 2004-2015 and latterly the Chief Executive of the Girls’ Schools Association (GSA). Born and bred in Chichester, Vivienne has almost forty years’ experience of schools, including as an ISI inspector. 


Ms Sally Gingell, MSc, DIPSW
Lead Safeguarding Governor at PGS, member of the Education Committee and represents Governors at the Junior School Parents’ Forum.  

Sally is a safeguarding specialist and brings her experience of managing, leading and delivering statutory Local Authority services.

Dr Martin Grossel, BSc, MA, PhD
Member of the Education Committee as one of Christ Church’s two representatives.  Martin is an Emeritus Fellow in Chemistry at Southampton University and an Emeritus Student of Christ Church, University of Oxford.




Mr Neil Latham, CBE, MSc, CEng, FIMarEST, MIMechE 
Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee.  

Neil is an engineer by background, with leadership experience in further and higher education. He is Chief Operating Officer at Bath Spa University. 



His Honour Judge Peter Lodder QC LLB 
Peter is an Old Portmuthian, and in 2015 he was appointed by The Queen to be a Senior Circuit Judge and the Resident Judge at Kingston-upon-Thames Crown Court.  He is a trustee of the charity ‘Spark Inside’ which assists young offenders upon release and a trustee of the Council of The Inns of Court.



Mr Jonathan Nicholls
Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee.  

Jonathan is Chairman of Shaftesbury PLC and Chairman of Ibstock PLC. He is the Senior Independent Director of DS Smith PLC. 



Mr Phil Parkinson, B.A. (Hons), Dip Arch (Dist. Thes)
Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee and Audit & Risk Committee.  

Phil is an architect, establishing PLC Architects in 1990. 



Mr Jacob Poulton, BA (Cantab)
Jacob left PGS in 2012 and went on to read economics at Clare College, Cambridge. His professional experience lies within education, having helped establish an EdTech company, and worked as a Senior Consultant at a strategy consulting firm focused on education where he led projects for school group and EdTech clients. Jacob also sits on the governing body of Bridgemary School in Gosport.


Dr Sally Ross, MB ChB, MRCGP
Member of the Education Committee. 

Sally served as a Royal Naval Medical Officer for over 20 years and was the first female doctor to serve with the Royal Marines and in a deployed Royal Navy operational warship. Sally is now a GP in Portsmouth.



Mr. David Jeapes, BSc, NPQH – Co-opted member of the school’s Education Committee
Headteacher at Mayfield School, Portsmouth since April 2011.  Mr. Jeapes was previously Associate Headteacher at Carisbrooke High School, on the IOW and Deputy Headteacher at ‘Fundacion Colegio de Inglaterra – The English School’, Bogota, Colombia.  David studied Mathematics at Kings College London before training as a secondary teacher of Mathematics at the Institute of Education, London. His interests include travelling, cooking and a variety of sports.  


Governors Emeritus

Mr D K Bawtree, CB, DL, BSc(Eng), CEng, FIEE, FIMechE
Mrs J Cockcroft, RGN, FPC, CertEd
Air Chief Marshal Sir Richard Johns, GCB, KCVO, CBE, FRAeS, RAF
Mr I A Carruthers
Mr B N Gauntlett, Dip.Surv, FRICS
Professor C B R Pelling, MA, DPhil
Mr M J Pipes, MA, MBA, FInstP
Mr F S K Privett, LLB
Mrs S Quail, BA
Mrs S Resouly, BSc, MRPharmS
Mr P F J Tobin, MA, FRSA 
Mr B S Larkman, BSc, ACIB, MBE