Our bespoke uniform has great historical significance and the striking black, red and gold PGS colours are easily recognised throughout the city and surrounding areas.  Complemented by the ever-present PGS Lion, our uniform is available to purchase through our own dedicated Uniform Shop situated in the heart of the school, just off the main Quad. 

Requests for variation in school uniform

The Portsmouth Grammar School is a Christian non-denominational school welcoming pupils of all faiths and none.  Parents should be aware that all pupils at The Portsmouth Grammar School are required to wear a uniform.  The Headmaster will consider written requests from parents for variations in the uniform on religious or medical grounds that are consistent with the school’s ethos and its policy on health and safety.  The Headmaster may take expert advice, and arrange to meet with the parents to discuss the implications of such a request.

The links below take you to the uniform requirements, including guidance on how our uniform should be worn.

Uniform Requirements, Reception

Uniform Requirements, Years 1 and 2

Uniform Requirements, Years 3 – 6

Uniform Requirements, Senior School (Years 7 – 11)

Uniform Requirements, Sixth Form

 

School Uniform Shop

With the exception of footwear and the suit for Sixth Form girls, all the uniform items are available from Nursery to Sixth Form are available from the school’s Uniform Shop.  The shop is primarily open during term time, but for the benefit of new parents, the shop opens on certain days during the summer holidays. 

It is advisable that an appointment should be made for all uniform fittings. Please call 023 9236 4255 or email uniformshop@pgs.org.uk to book an appointment.

Term Time Opening
Monday to Friday: 14.30 – 17.30
Wednesday: 08.00 – 09.00 and  14.30 – 17.30
 
Holiday Opening

 

December 2018
Monday 17 – Friday 28 December, Closed

January 2019
Tuesday 3 and Friday 4 January, 10:00 – 13:00
Monday 7 January, 10:00 – 16:00

February 2019
Friday 15 February, Closed
Monday 18 – Thursday 21 February, Closed
Friday 22 January, 10:00 – 13:00

March 2019
Friday 29 March, Closed

April 2019
Monday 1 – Friday 5 April, Closed
Monday 22 April, Closed
Tuesday 23 April, 10:00 – 16:00

May 2019
Monday 6 May, Closed
Monday 27 – Friday 31 May, Closed

July 2019
Monday 15 – Friday 26 July, Closed
Monday 29 July – Tuesday 3 September, 10:00 – 16:00

Email: Uniformshop@pgs.org.uk
Telephone: 023 9236 4255